Sweet Potato Kale Pizza

It’s official – Friday night has been declared Pizza Night in the Kim-and-Hector kitchen.  But when I say pizza, I’m not talking about 2,000-calorie mounds of dough and cheese that make you feel guilty and slightly nauseous the next day; I’m talking about a crisp homemade crust covered with roasted sweet potatoes and red onions, mozzarella cheese and crunchy balsamic kale.  This is not Pizza Hut pizza.  This is so much better.

PizzaSweetPotato

Photo credit: Hector Rodriguez

So here’s how Pizza Night works: every week we choose a different kind of pizza, based around an ingredient we want to try or a neat recipe we found.  Last week we chose kale because I got a giant bunch in my bi-weekly produce box, and the search for a unique recipe resulted in this gem from Two Peas and Their Pod: Sweet Potato Kale Pizza with Rosemary and Red Onion.

Seeing as this is the first time I’ve posted a recipe using kale, I have to add a note here: it took me forever to find ways I actually like kale.  I tried kale chips, steaming, frying, salad (at which point I also discovered that just about anything tastes pretty good when it’s covered in Caesar salad dressing and Parmesan cheese)…and I got sick of everyone telling me to try kale chips.  In the end, I’m not sure if my persistence meant I just acquired a taste for kale or whether I actually found unique recipes, but now I have several ways I really enjoy eating kale – and they still don’t include kale chips.

The take-away is this: a) my mom was right when she said I’m persistent and that it’s a much better quality in an adult than it is in a child, and b) usually people don’t dislike foods, they just dislike the way they’re prepared (case in point: tofu).  So if you don’t like something and want to, get creative and keep trying!

Now for the fun part: the pizza!  You can buy pre-made pizza crust or find the dough in the deli section, but we prefer a homemade thin crust and it’s much easier to make your own than you might think.  We used this recipe from The Kitchn, but would reduce the salt to 1/2 teaspoon as the crust turned out to be quite salty.

Photo credit: Hector Rodriguez

Photo credit: Hector Rodriguez

Sweet Potato Kale Pizza
Makes: 1 pizza

1 medium sweet potato, sliced thinly
1/2 red onion, sliced
1 Tbsp olive oil
Salt & Pepper to taste
1/2 mozzarella ball, grated
3 cups kale, finely chopped in ribbons
2 Tbsp balsamic vinegar

Instructions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 450F or its highest setting.  If you have a pizza stone, let it heat in the oven as you prepare the rest of the pizza.  Fresh dough should be pre-baked before you add the toppings, so toss it in for 5-10 minutes or until the crust is slightly baked but not crispy or browned.
  2. Toss the sweet potato, red onion and olive oil with as much salt and pepper as you like, then stir-fry on medium heat for about 7-10 minutes until the sweet potato is tender and slightly browned in places.
  3. Sprinkle your prepared crust (meaning shaped-and-baked or removed from the packaging) with grated mozzarella, holding some back.  Top with the sweet potato and onion and spread it out right to the edges before adding the remainder of the cheese.
  4. Toss the kale with the balsamic vinegar, massaging it with your hands so the leaves soften, then pile it on top of the pizza and drizzle the remaining balsamic over everything.  Bake for about 10-12 minutes, or until the kale is crispy and the cheese starts to bubble and brown.  Serve with love :)

Note: this recipe was adapted from Two Peas and Their Pod.

PizzaSweetPotato-small

Photo credit: Hector Rodriguez

 

3 comments

Leave a Reply

