Peanut Butter Oatmeal Bites

I’m sitting at my desk with a delicious peanut buttery oatmeal cookie sitting all alone looking at me, just daring me to eat it, and I’m trying really hard to resist eating it until after my spin class tonight…but I’ve got the last-Friday-before-a-recovery-week munchies and pretty much want to eat everything in sight!  I already ate its sibling, as well as a Ferrero Rocher chocolate which somehow slipped into my lunch bag this morning.  Oops.

Eaaat meeeee!!!

In the meantime, I’m distracting myself by coming up with all sorts of nasty drills for tonight’s spin class at Energia Athletics.  I’ve settled on a Flat-Build-Climb choreography, repeated three times and ending in a 7+ minute climb.  Any takers?  That’s what I thought, I’ll see you at 6!

Since I’m sure you’re drooling now too, here’s the recipe for these terribly tasty protein-and-carb treats for after a spin class (or any other type of exercise).

Peanut Butter Oatmeal Bites
Makes: about 36 bites

Ingredients:
1 1/4 cup flour
3/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 cup natural crunchy peanut butter
1 cup honey
1 large egg
1 Tbsp milk
1 tsp vanilla
1 1/2 cups rolled oats
1/4 cup raw cacao nibs

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. In a medium mixing bowl, stir together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.
  3. In a large bowl, cream together butter and peanut butter together until smooth and fluffy. Add the egg, milk and vanilla and mix. Gradually add in the flour mixture, then add honey and mix until thoroughly combined. Add oatmeal and cacao nibs.
  4. Scoop rounded tablespoons of dough and roll between hands to smooth into a slightly flattened ball. Place 1″ apart on lined baking sheet.
  5. Bake for 12-15 minutes, then remove to cool on a cooling rack.

These end up being a little crumbly right out of the oven, but if you let them sit at room temperature for a day they soften really nicely.  Not sure I’d trust them in my back jersey pocket for 100km, but they’ll do okay in your gym bag for a few hours as long as you’re careful not to squish them.

Leave a Reply

