Sweet Millet Congee

20131124-142135.jpg

It’s a quick update today, but after four days on the Wild Rose Cleanse, I still haven’t had those terrible first few days everyone talks about. No cramping, no GI issues, no headaches and normal energy levels. I also realized that the Wild Rose diet is basically what I always eat, with the exception of dairy, sugar and flour. Not too difficult to find delicious ways to cook with all that’s left!

The best part of avoiding sugar has been learning a bunch of new ways to flavour things. I put tons of cinnamon in my oatmeal, along with frozen cranberries for a delicious, cozy breakfast. I also tried cooking millet since it’s one of the recommended grains, and discovered an amazing recipe on the back of the package! I’ve made some modifications and I’d like to share it.

Sweet Millet Congee
Adapted from Bob’s Red Mill

5 cups water
1 cup whole millet
1 sweet potato, chopped
2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground ginger
Pinch nutmeg
1 apple, chopped

Boil water and add millet, sweet potato and spices, then turn to medium-low heat and simmer covered for about 25 minutes. Add chopped apple and simmer for another 10 minutes or until all the water is soaked up and the consistency is like oatmeal. Serve hot, with a touch of unsweetened soy milk to make it creamy.

I was so surprised at how easy this was to throw together, while being a delicious addition to my Wild Rose diet. It’s also completely from the “80% foods” list, so eat as much as you like!

One comment

Leave a Reply

