Swimming and Sunshine

Two of my favourite things in Singapore, and yesterday had the best of both.  My day started early, and I got to experience the sun in my favourite way: sunrise on a run.  It was dark at 6:30 when I woke up, but the day was brightening as I left the house and by the time I finished my short run the sun was shining and the day had started.

The motivation for my early morning, a 9am exam, went very well despite starting around the time I’ve been waking up lately.  I finished my essay question with two minutes to spare and had time to add a sentence or two to an earlier question before handing in my second exam of four.  Two more to go!  Unfortunately, after grabbing lunch with a friend I had to return to studying for my economics exam next week; I don’t think lying on a beach in Thailand will be very conducive to studying so I’m working extra hard before I go.

Fortunately, I had the second great part of my day to look forward to: swimming!  Every time I think it can’t possibly get any hotter it does, and I was dying by the time I got to the pool.  Jumping into the refreshing water was even better than my run this morning, and if you know how much I like running then you’ll understand how good this was.  I got into a rhythm quickly and it just clicked: I love that moment when it suddenly becomes easy.  I enjoyed the quiet and solitude of my workout, a much needed break from everything else going on in my life.  Before I knew it I’d reached 1000m…then 1200m…and when I finally reached 1600m I decided I was tired enough to finish!  By this time there were threatening clouds moving in for their daily thunderstorm so I was happy enough to relinquish the pool.

Swimming and sunshine: the recipe for a fantastic day.

Leave a Reply

