The Local Experience

Last night I had the opportunity to see some of the sights in Singapore with some local students working on a school project; their goal was to help a group of people in some way, and they chose exchange and international students as their target group.  They chose six foreign students to tour Singapore with, and everyone was very helpful and shared a lot of knowledge and perspectives that are hard to get without talking to a local.  I feel like I got to know Singapore better in a single evening than I have for the two and a half months I’ve been here already, and made more than a few friends with both the local and foreign students.

This is where our tour ended - along the Singapore river.

Part of the experience was doing interviews on what this meant to me, and how it impacted my stay in Singapore; they will be putting everything into a 7 minute video for the class, and I will get a copy (or access to one).  I’ll be joining them again Wednesday morning for some day activities, and some more excellent company!

Leave a Reply

