En Route

Whew! This past week has been a whirlwind of visiting, preparing and packing. I made it to the airport with plenty of time to spare, and was accompanied by an entourage consisting of Diana, Mom, Dad, Brenda, Nana, Grandpa and Matt. I’m feeling excited about the trip ahead, but also a little nervous and tentative as it’s a big step out into the world. I fully expect to return as a different person.

At the moment I’m on my first flight to Vancouver and time is still passing quickly. I’m in a Boeing 777 jet on its way to Sydney for this leg of the trip, and I have lots of room since the seat next to me is empty. It’s only 10:30pm EST but I’ve already reset my watch to Singapore time so I can start adjusting, and it’s like starting my day all over again – it’s 11:30am Saturday in Singapore, and I’m getting ready to eat lunch.

Made it to Vancouver! I thought I’d take advantage of the free internet to post my first actual update since I left. I still have about an hour and a half to kill before my flight to Taipei – running laps around the airport maybe?

Being on the other side of the Pacific means this trip has really hit home. I’m sitting in Taiwan Taoyuan International Airport waiting for my next flight and it really struck me that I’m here now and I can’t go back. I’ll be glad to get to Singapore and get a decent night’s rest.

Leave a Reply

